Question: What Happens If I Reset My Android Phone To Factory Settings?

How do I reset my Android phone without losing everything?

Go to “Settings” app and navigate to the “Backup > Reset > Reset Settings” tabs.

Step 2.

If you have the option that says “Reset Settings”, then it’s possible for you to reset only settings without losing storage data.

However, if the option says “Reset Phone” then you will lose your data..

What is the difference between hard reset and factory reset?

The two terms factory and hard reset are associated with settings. A factory reset relates to the rebooting of the entire system, while hard resets relates to the resetting of any hardware in the system. … The factory reset makes the device function again in a new form. It cleans the entire system of the device.

How long does it take for a phone to factory reset?

about 10 minutesIf you are talking about a factory reset, I would say it takes about 10 minutes to complete. Note: A factory reset erases all data on your phone and brings it back to a default factory state. In many cases you can initiate a hard factory reset by switching off the phone and starting it up by pressing POWER+VOLUME UP.

What is the benefit of factory reset?

Advantages of Factory Reset ProtectionIt is easy.Restoring your Factory settings, your phone will perform better.Your Android device becomes faster.Free up space on your device.It can be done remotely.Extremely useful in situations when your phone is lost or stolen.Helps in trouble-shooting measures.More items…•

What does a hard factory reset do?

A hard reset, also known as a factory reset or master reset, is the restoration of a device to the state it was in when it left the factory. All settings, applications and data added by the user are removed. … Hard reset contrasts with soft reset, which just means to restart a device.

What is the factory reset code for Android?

*2767*3855# – Factory Reset (wipe your data, custom settings, and apps). *2767*2878# – Refresh your device (keeps your data).

Does a factory reset delete everything?

When you do a factory reset on your Android smartphone, it’s supposed to wipe it clean, but it doesn’t. It deletes the addresses of all of your data, so it no longer knows where it’s stored, but it doesn’t actually overwrite the data.

Is factory reset bad for your phone?

It will not remove the device’s operating system (iOS, Android, Windows Phone) but will go back to its original set of apps and settings. Also, resetting it doesn’t harm your phone, even if you end up doing it multiple times.

What do I lose if I reset my phone to factory settings?

When you restore to factory defaults, this information is not deleted; instead it’s used to reinstall all necessary software for your device. The only data removed during a factory reset is data you add: apps, contacts, stored messages and multimedia files like photos.

Does a factory reset remove Google account?

Originally Answered: Does a factory reset remove Google account? Yes, a factory reset removes all accounts from your device.

How do I do a hard reset?

Turn off the phone and then press and hold the Volume Up key and Power key simultaneously until the Android system recover screen appears. Use the Volume Down key to highlight the “wipe data/factory reset” option and then use the Power button to make the selection.

What happens when a hard reset doesn’t work?

If your device freezes at any point, hold down the Power button until it restarts. If the factory reset process doesn’t fix your problems – or doesn’t work at all – it’s likely that there’s a problem with your device’s hardware. If it’s still under warranty, you should have it fixed or replaced.

What are the disadvantages of factory reset?

Disadvantages of FRP (Factory Reset Protection) LockYou may end up in losing your data.It’s technically a breach of Android settings.It may be risky.Data stored on external storage can’t be erased.All your information will be deleted and you can’t restore it back unless you’ve taken its backup.More items…•

Is reboot and restart same?

Restart is vague, and can mean the same as reboot, or a reload of the current operating system (without the boot loader), or even just restarting the user mode part of the operating system, leaving the kernel mode memory intact.

How do I reset my Android phone to factory settings?

Factory reset your Android phone from the Settings menuIn the Settings menu, find Backup & reset, then tap Factory data reset and Reset phone.You’ll be prompted to enter your passcode and then to Erase everything.Once that is done, select the option to reboot your phone.Then, you can restore your phone’s data.

How do I reset my Samsung phone to factory settings?

Turn off your phone, then press and hold the Power/Bixby key and Volume Up key, then press and hold the Power key. Release the keys when the Android mascot appears. When the Android system recovery menu appears, use the Volume Down key to select “Wipe Data/Factory Reset” and press the Power/Bixby key to proceed.

Can spyware survive a factory reset?

If you are very concerned and want to ensure your phone is safe from spyware, back up your data (photos, contacts, etc.) and then use the”Factory Reset” function of the phone to clear all apps and settings. Spyware like this will not survive a reset.

Will a hard reset delete everything on my phone?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled. To be ready to restore your data, make sure that it’s in your Google Account. Learn how to back up your data.

How do I completely wipe my Android phone?

Go to Settings > Backup & reset. Tap Factory data reset. On the next screen, tick the box marked Erase phone data. You can also choose to remove data from the memory card on some phones – so be careful what button you tap on.

What is the difference between flashing and factory reset?

Usually its ROM in . zip format that can be flashed from recovery. It usually format /system, extract files there and flash boot. … It let you data be in case you are just upgrading same ROM (in case you moved to different ROM, you also need to do factory reset).